Naples and Campania, Day One
13 May 2008
Mia Reinoso Genoni
miagenoni@post.harvard.edu
(Photo by Peter Goltra.)
The tour began the afternoon of the 13
th, with a ride on the Naples funicular, immortalized in the 19
th-century song
Funiculi,
Funicula (lyrics and music by
Peppino Turco and Luigi
Denza ). We went to the top of the
Vomero Hill, where we were treated to a panoramic view of the city of Naples with Vesuvius looming in the distance.

Of particular interest is the view of the
Spaccanapoli, or "Naples-Splitter"; one of the original east-west streets of the Greek city of
Neapolis, it became a Roman
decumanus, and is now known as the via Benedetto Croce. The building with the green roof is the late medieval church of Santa
Chiara.

The
spatio-temporal layering visible from
Vomero hill is also omnipresent in the structures atop it. The
Castel Sant'Elmo is a fortress named after a 10
th-century church on site. It was begun by King Robert of
Anjou in 1329, and the Viceroy Peter of Toledo reconfigured it in 1537-46. It was built in part by slicing through the rock to create what is essentially a moat without water.

This view of the Castel Sant'Elmo was taken from the adjacent Certosa di San Martino. From here we can see the heraldic crest of Charles V.

The
Certosa di San Martino is a
Carthusian monastery founded by Charles of
Anjou, Duke of
Calabria in 1325. In the 16
th and 17
th centuries two architects were responsible for a complete renovation, originally inspired in part by the Counter-Reformation: Giovanni Antonio
Dosio (1589) and Cosimo
Fanzago (1623).
(Photo by Peter Goltra.)The interior is a testament to Mannerist and Baroque Neapolitan splendor, as well as a palimpsest of sorts: note Giovanni
Lanfranco's 17
th-century frescoes inserted into the "Gothic" (or "medieval modern") vaulting of the Angevin structure. Also fascinating is
Fanzago's use of marble. There were no nearby quarries, so marble came at a premium;
Fanzago the sculptor solved this problem by creating slender marble revetment, seen here.

The
Chiostro Grande was designed by
Dolsio in 1591-1609.
Fanzago created the balustrade of the monk's cemetery, seen here in the foreground.

Examples of his deft architectonic-sculptural touch abound: here we see the skulls of the balustrade of the cemetery...

while elsewhere we find the elements of greater articulation he added to
Dosio's design. Quite striking are the elegant moldings that frame the busts of
Carthusian saints found on the portals.